Scholarship Application

 

 

This morning I filled out a generic scholarship application so I could hopefully qualify for some general scholarships that are offered at Palomar. There were two short essay questions.

The first essay question was to be less than 300 words, and pertained to our choice of major/profession.

Response #1:

English is my passion. I have always been a writer, always wanted to write. When I initially graduated high school in Houston in 1999, I received a scholarship for Creative Writing at the University of Houston off of my college entrance essay. Sometimes it’s almost like the last 20 years never even happened. Writing is the only thing that I have always consistently loved. For a long time, I struggled with the idea of what I would do with an English degree. I don’t particularly want to teach, although I have a passion for knowledge and sharing information.

This love of information brought me to Library Science. Ultimately, what I would like to do is transfer to Cal State San Marcos and finish my undergraduate education in English. Once I have that, I would like to attend the San Jose State University online master’s program and receive a Master’s of Information and Library Science. I would love to become a librarian and work with the public.

I am impressed with Palomar’s Library Tech Program. Although I am focusing on the transfer credits I need for my English degree, I have concurrently been taking classes in Library Science to feel out the field and perhaps finish the certificate program in addition to my English degree. What I really lack so far is actual library experience, as I work and raise my daughter as well. To that end, I am seeking volunteer opportunities within local libraries and perhaps a part-time job at a bookstore, as entry-level library jobs are hard to come by. I do have hope!

My ideal life would be filled with books, paper, laptops, and words. I want to create worlds for people to read, comment on society, and ultimately serve society by becoming a librarian.

The second essay question involved outlining any struggles we face in our academic journey, 300-500 words.

Response #2:

In late 2013, I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder Type 1. It is an illness that I have apparently struggled with my entire life. It was a very hard year for me. I lost my apartment when I could no longer afford the rent and had to move back in with my estranged husband. I had a nervous breakdown and lost my job and disappeared, fled town, for over a week. I was eventually found in San Francisco, and was arrested due to my conduct during my breakdown. It turns out the breakdown was a dysphoric mania episode with psychosis. I was hearing voices, terribly paranoid, I kept throwing away my cell phone and purchasing new burner phones, but I had nobody’s phone numbers, nobody to help me. My family had no choice but to leave me in jail for two weeks until I was sane enough to figure out how to bail myself out. They could not find a psych bed for me.

All’s well that ends well, but it took many psychiatric appointments and medication changes to find stability. I was on probation for two years, which I completed successfully. I returned to my career as a massage therapist and have been working steadily ever since.

In addition to my struggles with my mental health, which is thankfully well-managed these days, I also have a beautiful, perfect daughter named Molly. She is 7 years old now and in the second grade. Her father and I divorced after my breakdown, and while we have joint custody, she is primarily with me. I pick her up from school every day and we have grand adventures.

I figure if I work hard and continue my steady pace and getting good grades at school, I should finish my Master’s degree around the time she finishes high school. There is nothing I would enjoy more than being totally free to pursue a job as my daughter goes off to start her life.

I am poor. I am mentally ill. I am a single mom. I try not to tie my identity to these things, but they are a part of who I am. Being poor is something I can change, and while I know librarians are not rich, the idea of having a career that includes such things as pensions and benefits is amazingly appealing. I will work hard to make that future happen for myself, and for her.

***

It was difficult writing such short and important responses, but I hope I did alright, and maybe this year will be a little easier if I can snag some scholarship money. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Scholarship Application

  1. I’m currently in the MLIS at SJSU! Your first short essay resonated me greatly with our shared passions of writing and librarianiship. Thank you for your vulnerability in the second one!

Leave a comment